Standing Committee on General Education

The Standing Committee on General Education is responsible for the intellectual and pedagogical oversight of the Program in General Education. The Committee reviews proposals for General Education courses and advises regarding pedagogical initiatives. Professors Jinah Kim and Venkatesh Murthy are Co-Chairs of the Standing Committee on General Education.

  • Jinah Kim, George P. Bickford Professor of Indian and South Asian Art (Co-Chair)
  • Venkatesh Murthy, Raymond Leo Erikson Life Sciences Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology (Co-Chair)
  • Ali S. Asani, Murray A. Albertson Professor of Middle Eastern Studies and Professor of Indo-Muslim and Islamic Religion and Cultures
  • Tobias Benn '23
  • Amanda Claybaugh, Dean of Undergraduate Education (Ex Officio)
  • Rachelle Gaudet, Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • David S. Jones, A. Bernard Ackerman Professor of the Culture of Medicine (fall only)
  • Rakesh Khurana, Danoff Dean of Harvard College (Ex Officio)
  • Deidre Lynch, Harvard College Professor and Ernest Bernbaum Professor of Literature
  • Nidhi Patel '22
  • Ann Pearson, Harvard College Professor and Murray and Martha Ross Professor of Environmental Sciences
  • Gillian Pierce, Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives and Interim Associate Dean of the Harvard College Curriculum (Ex Officio)
  • Neha Seshadri '22
  • Jesse Snedeker, Professor of Psychology
  • Gabriela Soto Laveaga, Antonio Madero Professor for the Study of Mexico
  • Jason Ur, Stephen Phillips Professor of Archaeology and Ethnology
  • Rob Wood, Charles River Professor of Engineering and Applied Sciences (fall only)